🖧Your VPN Sucks🖧

Robert Scocca
5 min readFeb 5, 2023

You’ve been conned. You’re paying monthly for the illusion of privacy/security.

Third-party VPN providers, those that act as fancy proxies, prey on your privacy fears to sell you a neatly packaged subscription service.

Ads shilling VPNs that claim to protect your privacy from tracking and secure you from hackers is silly marketing at best and harmful misinformation at worst. They simply do not make you more secure or private in the way they are being sold to you. They are another needless subscription service. VPN providers are laughing to the bank right now with big bags of your money. See for yourself:

I’m the guy that fully encrypts all my hard-drives, locks up my computers in Faraday cages when not in use and wears a tin foil hat to stop the Feds from reading my thoughts. I’m fascinated by OPSEC practices and surveillance capitalism. I know a bit about the ins and outs of what it takes to actually cover your tracks on the internet. I write this with no sense of superiority as I routinely use social media and disclose plenty of personal info online. Hell, the name of this blog is my full name.

Why do VPNs not help privacy?

A main selling point of VPN’s is offering a layer of encryption to protect against spooky hackers or something to that effect. You’re browser already protects you, by…

--

--